.entry-content ul li {list-style-image: None;}

↑ Return to Services

Concealed Carry Handgun Permit

In order for a citizen in North Carolina to legally carry a concealed handgun outside of their personal property, they must apply for and obtain a North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun Permit (CCH) from the sheriff’s office in the county of residence.

After a firearms safety course is successfully completed, the next step is to obtain a new applicant packet available from the Duplin County Sheriff’s Office administration building located at 112 West Hill Street, Kenansville, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a. m. to 4:30 p. m. or download and print the forms in the packet from the links below.

Part I – New Application Packet (Print all 5 forms and bring to your CCH appointment):

  1. Application for Concealed Handgun Permit –  (Must be completed and signed before a NC Notary)
    Select  Computer Fillable Form or PDF form to complete by hand

  2. Physical and Mental Health Records Release Form (Must be completed and signed before a NC Notary)
    Select Computer Fillable Form or PDF form to fill out by hand

  3. Vidant Duplin Hospital Mental Health Records Release Form (Must be completed and signed before a NC Notary)
    PDF form to fill out by hand

  4.  Do’s and Don’ts List of Carrying a Concealed Handgun (Sign and date)
    PDF form to complete by hand

  5.  Request for Fingerprints (Complete)
    PDF form to complete by hand
     

 Part 2 – Additional New Packet Information (Print & retain for your records):

The documents provided below are part of the new application packet and are provided to enhance your understanding of what is required of a CCH permit holder. It is the responsibility of every CCH permit holder to stay current on all the laws regarding carrying a concealed weapon. Please print the following to read, understand, and keep for your records:

2015 North Carolina Firearms Laws

Concealed Handgun Chart – Prohibited Carry Areas

Criteria to Qualify for the Issuance of a Permit

Disqualifying Criminal Offenses

 

Applicants are seen by appointment only.   After all paperwork is completed and signed, please call 910-296-2150 to schedule an appointment time to submit the application and be fingerprinted. Please allow 30 minutes for your appointment. In addition to the completed packet forms listed above, applicants must provide:

  • An original certificate of completion of an approved concealed carry handgun course

  • Driver’s license or state-issued photo ID card with correct address

  • Birth Certificate or other documentation to show citizenship and date of birth

  • Social Security Number

Note:  The disclosure of your social security number as part of the concealed carry handgun permit application is voluntary. The purpose of the social security number is to assist in your identification and to help distinguish you from other person(s) with similar names. No CCH permit will be denied to you for failing to disclose your social security number.

Renewal Applications

Concealed Carry Handgun Permits are valid for 5 years. North Carolina law provides that if the holder of a CCH permit wishes to renew the permit, the holder must apply for the renewal at least 30 days prior to its expiration date. A courtesy reminder letter and renewal forms will be automatically mailed from the Duplin County Sheriff’s Office approximately 45 days prior to CCH permit expiration; however, it is the CCH applicant’s responsibility to maintain a current, valid permit.

The requirement to take another concealed carry handgun class prior to renewal is solely within the discretion of the sheriff. However, failure to renew your permit within 60 days of the renewal date will result in your permit expiring. Any future permit will be treated as a new application which will require the applicant to take the concealed carry handgun training again.

 

Application Requirements

  • Must have successfully completed an approved firearms training course and provide the original completion certificate with application.

  • Must apply in person by scheduling an appointment as stated above.

  • Must be a citizen, a naturalized citizen or resident of the United States. If born outside of the United States, must provide proof of citizenship.

  • Must be at least 21 years old.

  • Must be a resident of Duplin County for at least 30 days prior to the date of applying. Proof of residency must be provided at the time of application. (NC driver’s license or NC identification card)

  • Must pass a criminal history background check.

  • Must be eligible to own, posses or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law. See .

  • Must provide a complete set of legible fingerprints. (Will be taken by sheriff’s personnel at time of application. )

  • Must authorize a mental health check.

General Information

  • Permits are valid for 5 years beginning from the date of approval. https://duplinso.permitium.com.

  • Renewal of an existing permit can be submitted up to 90 days before the expiration date. Failure to renew an existing permit prior to the expriation date may result in requiring retaking the firearms training course to obtain a new certificate.

  • Processing may take up to 45 days after the background check is complete and all mental health forms are received. The entire process generally takes 60 – 90 days from the date of application.

  • If a permit is lost or stolen, the applicant must immediately notify the Duplin County Sheriff’s Office and sign an affidavit. A duplicate card will be issued in the amount of a $15 duplicate fee.

  • Permit applications are taken under oath and notarized. False or fictitious information provided during the application process may cause the applicant to be criminally charged.

  • When a change of address occurs, applicant must notify the Duplin County Sheriff’s Office in person within 30 days. There is no fee incurred in this process, unless the individual requests a duplicate permit. If a duplicate permit is not obtained, the Change of Address Form must be kept with the existing permit at all times.

  • On August 11, 2004, the governor signed into law that citizens with a CCH (Concealed Carry Handgun Permit) can purchase handguns through dealers using their CCH; however, it is also at the dealer’s discretion to require a purchase permit.

Fees & Method of Payment

New application – $90 ($80 application fee and $10 fingerprinting fee)
Renewal application – $75
Duplicate permit – $15
Sworn officer new application – $45
Sworn officer renewal application – $40

All fees are non-refundable and are due at the time of applying. Correct change is requested. Checks and money orders made payable to the Duplin County Sheriff’s Office are also accepted. We do not accept credit or debit cards.

.